National Press Club

2019 Fourth Estate Award Gala Honoring Amanda Bennett

2019 Fourth Estate Award Gala Honoring Amanda Bennett

October 17, 2019 6:30 PM

Location: Ballroom

2019 Fourth Estate Award Honoring Amanda Bennett

Amanda Bennett, best known for her award-winning leadership in investigative reporting at The Wall Street Journal, The Oregonian, and Bloomberg News, will receive the National Press Club's most esteemed prize, the Fourth Estate Award, at a Press Club gala in her honor on October 17, 2019 in Washington, D.C. Bennett is the 47th recipient of the award, which recognizes journalists who have made significant contributions to the field.

“Amanda is an exceptional journalist and has enjoyed an enviable career managing some of the most respected newsrooms in the country,” said National Press Club President Alison Fitzgerald Kodjak, “but what I have always admired most about Amanda, is her commitment to mentoring and empowering other journalists to do their very best work.”

The Fourth Estate Award is the top honor bestowed on a journalist by the National Press Club Board of Governors. Previous winners include Marty Baron, Dean Baquet, Wolf Blitzer, Gwen Ifill, Andrea Mitchell, Bob Woodward, Jim Lehrer, Walter Cronkite, Christiane Amanpour, and David Broder. The gala dinner is a fundraiser for the Club’s nonprofit affiliate, the National Press Club Journalism Institute, which advocates for press freedom worldwide, equips journalists with skills and standards to inform the public in ways that inspire civic engagement, and provides scholarships to aspiring journalists.

For sponsorship opportunities call Julie Moos, Executive Director of the National Press Club Journalism Institute at (202) 662-7507.

Event Details:

Date: Thursday, October 17, 2019
Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: The National Press Club Ballroom (529 14th Street, NW, 13th Floor, Washington, D.C. 20045
Dress Code: Black Tie Optional

NPC Members: There is a member promotion available for this event or you need to log in to register. Click here to log in and get the code.